Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Verbal communication is believed to have more influences than written counterpart. From my perspective, I believe it depends on circumstances each individual face and which ones they prefer.

On the one hand, when it comes to the situation that requires oral skills and facial expressions, verbal communication is more effective than written one. In order to break the ice or make the confabulation becomes more vigorous and exciting, people need to talk directly to the others instead of texting to them. For example, taking a date, seeing each other and having an oral conversation would make the relationship between them inseparable. Pictures, texts could never take precedence over a smile, a warm hug and a nice, cozy conversation. Additionally, verbal communication helps people know the real attitude and expression of others. By having a conversation, through their gestures and expressions, people could know what the others thought and therefore could have solutions to handle. If they are texting, they would not know what their opponents thinking and this might lead to misconception.

On the other hand, written communication is more powerful than verbal counterpart regarding law and business. People have the tendency to trust what was written than what was told. For instance, in court, spoken would not be approved without any valid evidence such as written documents, to support their argument. In addition, written communication such as documents, files would save a great amount of time for big companies when they demonstrate the effectiveness and the utilization of their products. By doing this, their companies would earn respect from other companies and trust from customers.

In conclusion, liking and disliking vary between people. Both types of communication could bring people a wide variety of benefits, and it depends on situations that people face.