Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication is the meaning of delivering messages from one person to another. It is conventionally divided into two common kinds: spoken and written communications. According to many factors that affect the success of its mutual-understanding, such as the form of communication itself or the level of directness, I believe that spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

Firstly, it can be said that spoken communication is more comprehensible. The reason often given to its use of both visual and auditory channels while communicating. When we intercommunicate, not only the speaking language but also the body language is used. For example, hand gestures, face expressions or tones of voice,… are the additional factors that be able to change the meaning of the message delivered. A same sentence supported by a grimace might have a negative meaning, while along with a high and bright pitch of voice it can contain the positive attitude from the speaker. In another word, the words speaking out loud are simultaneously described in a more visual and optical way, which help the listener fully get the messages given.

Secondly, the higher level of directness in spoken communication also makes it more effective than written communication. Nowadays, with the technological evolution, written communication developed into various forms, from hand-written letter to text message or real-time chatting. However, along with that is the “noise” which interrupts the progress of delivery and affects the quality of receiving the messages. For instance, even when two people are able to real-time chat with each other through a texting application, the contexts in which a text message can be interpreted are so various that the receiver can understand the content in an unexpected way. Whereas, using facetime to see each other face to face and directly exchange verbal communication gives the minimum interruption and helps the messages come through without its meaning being modified. The same case is a collaboration between two businesses is hard to perform without meetings and conferences but just e-mail exchanging.

In conclusion, spoken communication can be said as the ultimate form of exchanging information due to the variety of interactions apart from using language. Therefore, accept from the inevitable situations, spoken communication should be prioritized for the most quality of the conversation.