Sport is becoming a business with high income for professionals and more companies have involved in financial investment and in other ways. Do you think it is a positive or negative development for sports?

Sport is a lucrative industry and sporting personalities can have desirable income. It is indisputable that many corporations provide financial aid and other forms of support. From my perspective, this could have both benefits and drawbacks in equal measures.

There are various reasons why investing in sport has merits. First of all, sponsors would help athletes with not only a professional training process that warrants success but also modern tools and equipment to support the exercise effectively. The better the quality of the training sessions, the more athletes' morale, and motivation are enhanced, which helps them to achieve brilliant results and medals in competitions. Furthermore, this is beneficial for sponsors as the athletes' victories they have sponsored are also an opportunity for them to promote their brand names. Another justification is that sports players deserve a higher monthly stipend. Professional sports leagues are extremely competitive, moreover, following a sports career encounters such risky feat that athletes can easily get injured and their span is very short.

Sport translates into economic businesses, however, could bring a number of demerits. The main problem is the commercialization of sports. Sponsered sports teams and individuals would be put under the pressure of attaining a prize. In order to win at all cost, cheating is one possible case which leads to the loss of sports value. It should also be noted that popular sports tend to attract more investors than less popular ones. While this is beneficial for investors, it would lead to unfair competition between different sports because of inequality.

It is evident that financial assistance and other supporting factors will have both upsides and downsides impacts on sport.