First coined in the late 90s the term globalization has made it into daily life over the last years. Trying to define globalization is quite easy: it is basically a process of interaction among people, governments, companies on worldwide scale. Less easy seems how to explain the enormous advantages behind this unstoppable trend and that is indeed what this essay will try to do.

Globalization has deep roots in the history. The first example of globalization dates back to the roman empire, which extended from the dry African deserts to the rainy hills of Britain ruling the ancient world for almost thousand years. Sure, globalization has its downsides too but I would like to stress the attention on the positive aspects. First of all, a globalized economy is relatively more stable and strong than the economic models of the past. This statement could probably raise a few eyebrows, but this is the only strategy developed countries have to embrace to be competitive with rising economic giants like China or India. Even if it true that financial crisis are more likely to infect around the world, it is also true that governments can quickly find solutions to tackle recession, inflation, and other financial issues. Globalization also means more freedom. For the first time in its troubled history, mankind has experiencing a long period of peace blessed by liberty and democracy. Flights and the Internet has reduced distance from countries fueling exchanges, work connections, imports, and exports. A new kind of economy, the digital economy, has been steadily increasing its profits in the last decades. Thanks to globalization, big companies like Amazon or Google can expand their business also in developing countries helping to stabilize war-torn economies and offering good-paying jobs to local workforce.

To sum up, globalization has the made the world a safer place. Not only ordinary people are profiting from this phenomenon, but also governments, institutions, and companies as well. The rise of the Internet, the intense commercial exchanges among nations, the demand for global security, are only a few of the compounding factors that make globalization not just a word but also a necessity to successfully manage the challenges governments will have to face for the years to come.