These days due to the technological improvement we have been witnessing, home office has made it into our daily life. Many companies around the world offer this opportunity that, according to the latest studies, is widely well accepted among employees. This essay will revolve around the pros and the cons of this policy.

Working from home has become commonplace these days. In the past that would have been more complicated, if not impossible. Computers were too expensive, Internet connections unreliable and slow. Since then technology has moved forward making it possible for almost everyone to get a notebook and to have a stable and fast access to the Web. Companies have observed also that employees who work remotely are actually more productive than colleagues who work in the office. Beside boosting productivity, home office is an effective way to cut on management cost. Companies have to rent spaces for their offices, to pay bills for electricity, water and heating. Allowing employees to work remotely is also a smart solution to curb expenses. Another positive aspect worth mentioning is that working from home can be more relaxing than spending time in a busy, noisy office. At home workers do not have to follow strict schedules or dead lines. They can better focus on their goals and reach higher levels of productivity in the light of the fact that they are surrounded by a favorable environment. Finally, the financial aspect should also be taken into account. Since people do not have to leave home, they can save a lot of money and time that they normally would waste on car insurance, gas, parking tickets and traffic jams.

Although the facts mentioned above give a rather bright picture of homeworking, many claim that is practice has its own drawbacks. For example, they think that some skills like team working and problem solving get lost. Those abilities are requested by many employers and working without interaction can actually weaken those abilities which are essential in many fields. Others do not believe that productivity increases given that employees cannot be controlled and it is not possible to give direct feedback on their job.

To sum up, from my point of view, home working is a smart solution that merges benefits for the employees as well as for the companies. It is a win-win situation where employees can work from a friendly environment and companies profit from higher productivity and revenues.