Discuss the relevance of study history Do you think preserving historical monuments is a waste of effort and money

Commonly considered as one of the basic subjects in every curriculum, history is not only a dry record of past events but it is indeed a vital source of inspiration for the future. Although the importance of history cannot be put into discussion. there are still many who question the necessity of spending money to preserve historical monuments. The aim of this essay is to demonstrate how essential history could be and moreover to explain how much a society can benefit from preserving monuments.

Since the dawn of mankind, humans have tried to leave footprints of their passage on the Earth. In spite of the lack of artistic knowledge and sophisticated tools, our ancestors have been able to depict hunting scenes and animals. Cave paintings are an outstanding example of this art. They tell us stories of individuals dead thousands years ago, whose deeds however continue to echo in our time. Furthermore, those pictures are extremely precious, in the light of the fact that they are testimony to an era otherwise utterly hidden in the fog. Over the centuries, humans have honed their skills becoming able to carve the marble, erect massive churches, and built temples. All of these artifacts represent a once in a life opportunity that people have to dig into the past to learn from it. Additionally, monuments are a source of income as well.

Bolstered by an evident economic payoff, monument preservation has become a priority for several cities scattered around the world. Locations rich in historic buildings base in some cases their economy on income generated by tourists magnetized by the power of ancient treasures. Beside the artistic value of some works, the financial impact that monuments have on the local economy cannot be underestimated. Where many see only waste of resources, other see in preserving monuments a way to boost the economy. Monuments do actually bring in additional wealth in a community, by creating job opportunities in many fields, from housing to restaurants to maintenance.

Accordingly tho the facts mentioned above, it is therefore evident that spending money on preserving historical monuments is worth the effort. Not only monuments are a vivid testimony of a past we can learn from, they are also a reliable resource cities can rely on to improve the local economy.