Many consider the Internet as the most outstanding breaktrough of the 20st century. It is actually a powerful toll that enables people to access to the whole knoweldge of mankind, to purchase items or to check the bank account without leaving the house. As the technology has become more affordable, a higher number of people have the opportunity to connect to the Internet. Among them there also children and teenager. Some express concerns because they believe that the youngsters should not enter the Internet without supervision. Although the World Wide Web is full of reliable and useful contents, sites showing violence, pornography and racial discrimination are unfortunately part of this universe. It is therefore necessary for the children to access the Internet under supervision of an adult. These days thousands use instant messaging programs like Facebook, Whatsapp or MSN, that on one hand are very useful because they allow people to communicate fast and for free. On the other hand, the youngster can end up in tricherous situations. Sadly, cases of children being abducted via chat by pedophiles are a cruel reality parents should be aware of.

There are many ways to control the access to the Internet. The most radical way would be to prohibit children to use mobile devices or computers connected to the Internet. In truth, I think that this approach does not simply work and it would furthermore deprive the kids of the silvern lining of this technology. A more affordable soultion would be to install a parental control device. All operating systems like Windows for example embiddes this option, so that parents can set up password or just block the access to specific sites. This is to me the best option. In addition to this feature, all Internet browsers offer the opportunity to check the browsing history, a useful add-on that can help parents to trace back the activities performed on a PC.

One of the drawbacks of the Digital Era is that too many children spend too much time in their rooms without going outside. Climbing trees, looking for animals in the woods, hiking hills or just playing footbal in the park seem to be actions linked to the past. I think that it is time to rediscover those activities. Parents should allow children to use computers and to surf the Internet but at the same time they should also encourage their offspring to meet their friends outdoor. Playing outside brings several benefits to the youngsters: by moving they remain fit, they learn skills like team working, communication and they are exposed to sunlight, a key bone health nutrient.