Students need to have good study skills on entering university. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that students should prepare study skills well before learning at university. However, the environment at university is very different from high school, which means students have to learn other skills to adapt. In my opinion, I agree that study skills have many benefits but learning soft skills are also significant.

Firstly, study skills have a role to play in university. At high school, teachers have to ensure that students have gained sufficient in-depth knowledge while lecturers at university emphasize self-study. In addition, some university subjects are heavy on theory and difficult to understand. For example, Philosophy is a difficult subject and it requires students to read more books and documents to understand. Many students feel that what they learn at lecture hall is not enough so they search on Youtube or Google for more information. As a result, this self-study skill provides them a high level of knowledge.

On the other hand, learning soft skills is also beneficial. When people study at university, good soft skills can help them to have more relationships or opportunities in study and work. For instance, at NEU university, many lecturers ask for teamwork. Students there have to have good teamwork skills to achieve high efficiency during working together. Moreover, if students are good at communication skills, they can present well in front of crowd. This is one of key factors to be good students at university.

In conclusion, I hold the view that both study skills and soft skills should be learnt before entering university. Study skills will help students get higher marks and soft skills will provide them with good relationships and opportunities. Students should hone their skills to become elite students.