Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skill such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that academic knowledge is the most necessary thing to be taught for students, other practical skills like cooking and dressing should be ignored. I partly disagree with this opinion and in this essay I will give further explanations.

The necessity of academic knowledge is undeniable for every students. By focusing on accumulating knowledge and pass all the exams, students will be able to graduate on time, therefore save a lot of money in term of paying the tuition. Many colleges, for example, require student who failed the final exam of a subject to pay double the fee in order to retake the exam. Constantly failing will result in a waste of money, and this even put a significant burden on students coming from underprivileged families. Besides, with great knowledge, students can achieve outstanding academic records which will give them a leg up in finding a high-paid job right after their graduations.

Apart from academic knowledge, practical skills also play vital roles in students’ life. Cooking, for instance, is a must-have skill for students who had to leave their house for colleges. Without this skill, students will end up eating out every time, which lead to unnecessary costly meals or health problems due to low-quality food. Furthermore, other skills such as communicating and teamworking can help students to perform better at work, where professional achievements are usually team-based.

In conclusion, from my perspective, I am of the opinion that students should definitely concentrate on studying for academic knowledge, however, the importance of practical skills should not be neglected. These skills also need to be adequately invested in.