Students at university usually have a heavy workload. How and why should they

balance work and their free-time activities?

Higher education can be stressful for students. This essay will make an attempt to investigate reasons why having a balanced lifestyle towards study versus leisure time is necessary and look into ways how it can be achieved.

There are several reasons why young adults at the university need to balance their workload and free time effectively. Firstly, the good balance will improve their physical and psychological state. This is because studying late at the library or working on assignments whole weekends might eventually affect their health poorly. Secondly, organizing one’s time in the more balanced way will help to be more productive and students might actually enjoy their university years. For example, during my final year at the university I joined jiu Jitsu club, which aided my studies significantly since I became more aware of time and I was fit. Thus, it is clear that achieving a balance between study and leisure time during tertiary education is important in order to maintain good health and mind.

Good balance can be achieved by various methods. To begin with, youngsters can join different social clubs offered by student unions. That way they can meet like-minded fellow learners which will present something new rather pure studying. Another way to obtain a balance would be to join university’s sports clubs either to learn new skills or continue the familiar sport. The reasons behind this are that in addition to improved fitness level, these sports clubs will have regularly scheduled classes, attending which can help students to organize their time efficiently.

To conclude, although university students often become overwhelmed with projects and tasks which make their balancing between study and free time very challenging is important to achieve good grades as well as improving their overall well-being. This can be achieved by joining various university clubs usually offered by student unions.