Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that many youngsters have a tendency to spend more time on social networking time than face-to-face meeting. While some reasons can be identified to explain this situation, there are solutions that could be adopted to tackle this issue.

Firstly, the significant improvement in communication technology leads to a change in the way the young generations interact with other people dramatically. For example, mobile and laptops have been optimized with many modern functions and apps, which helps teenagers to gain access to the Internet with only some simple clicks. As a result, it is considered to be much more convenient and money-saving for them to socialise. Secondly, in terms of pandemic, we are dealing with the most dangerous plague, Covid 19, which prevents us from contacting and meeting each other in person. We are encouraged to keep social distance. Communication online is considered as a helpful way to stay in touch with our friends, or family.

However, measures can be taken to provide a solution to the problem. Firstly, it must be a priority for authorities to create more opportunities for youngsters to participate in various activities or organisations such as English clubs, or football. These will boost their direct contact, make more friends and develop communication skills. For example, other cities, such as Da Nang, and Ho Chi Minh, organized the running events or book streets for everyone to join in at weekends. Secondly, Resources should be allocated to prepare the best for any severe cases of pandemic such as providing better hospital facilities and preparing a stable workforce for the health care industry. Government should impose flexible policies to enhance the quality of resident's life. If they can do it well, people will feel safe to enjoy life and interact with other people.

In conclusion, the reasons behind the decrease in direct socialisation are well-known, but there are steps which can be implemented effectively to combat this trend and help to boost interaction in person.