Success in formal pen and paper examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence To what extent do you agree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence How can students be assessed

The conventional educational system has examination as the major mode of assessing the skills of students.The scores on the report determine the level of intelligence of an individual regardless of the underlying knowledge he/she possesses in respective subjects.

A student who is very good at theoretical knowledge of his subjects can achieve the highest of scores, but may not be intellectual in other areas such as logic or reasoning.On the other hand there may be students who can perform best in some subjects concerning their areas of interest.Thus the pen and paper technique does not assess the overall skills but only a part of it.

In the era of industrialization and growing competition there is need of fresh minds who can excel at logic, analytics ,design,leadership etc.Industries would be able to pick those students only if their skills are assessed not only through pen and paper but also through practical assignments or online tasks.

In conclusion there is a need to reconsider the existing education system and its working to encourage the holistic development of students rather than just the theoretical knowledge.