This is a controversial argue among people whether entertainment is the only purpose of watching movies or they should also be educational. I personally believe that both sides are right based on some reasons.

On one side, cinema industry started working and became popular by making people busy watching movies. By the time, educational and documentary movies entered this area too. Solely a funny movie or animation can help an exhausted human being to release stress and get rid of the fatigue of daily work and it’s tension. Since there is a limited source of mental energy for each person a day and there would not be any left at the end of a hectic day or at the weekend. Although different people have different energy levels according to their personality, there would also be some tough moments for this group which tend to relax their brain and have fun. Making time with others is another reason to choose entertaining movies. Because the mental energy and tastes of them may be different.

On the other side, there is another group of people who enjoy being challenged be the plot rather than the performance. These people mostly prefer mystery movies with intricate plots or other educational movie genres including documentaries. They even may like to become spiritually inspired by motivational movies like real life stories. Watching funny movies maybe considered waste of time by them. But the reality is that educate people by funny ways can be more effective than serious and direct ways, and it should surely be considered by the movie makers.

In conclusion, although people would continue arguing if the purpose of movies is pure entertainment or it can be mixed with education, I personally believe that different movie types can work in different situations.