It is believed that a successful businessman is expected to be excellent at math. From my perspective, I am not completely convinced with this view to some extent.

On the one hand, math plays an important role in one’s life. Before making any drastic actions, a business would do throughout calculations to avoid situations that might lead to the company facing bankruptcy. Doing math in future investments allows businesses to predict upcoming situations they can encounter, hence making instant adjustments to not only reach their targets but also avoid failures. One of the largest companies globally, Samsung, had done multiple careful calculations before allocating billions of dollars to the establishment of mega factories in Vietnam. Thanks to the initial measurements, these factories allows Samsung to gain roughly 74 billion dollars in 2020.

On the other hand, I still believe that individual characteristics make a greater contribution to a success of a business. One of the good virtues is the capability to take risks. Take Elon Musk as an example. He has been known as an ambitious person who bravely steps out of his comfort zone and takes risks. As a result, one of his companies, Tesla, has been considered a pioneer in electric vehicles and has successfully sold millions of electric cars globally. Additionally, leadership should be taken into consideration. Numerous startups across the globe are facing unsettlement due to poor management, contributing to wrong decisions.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that despite the irreplaceable position of math in every business, personal characteristics are far more critical, considering their benefits to successful entrepreneurs.