task 2: Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Unlike in the past when the family gathered to have a meal together, household members nowadays tend to eat at different times and places. This essay will look at the reason for this and explain why this is a negative evolution.

To begin with, there are several causes behind this trend. First of all, each person in the family might have a distinct schedule. For instance, working parents often leave home early in the morning and sometimes come home late at night. Meanwhile, children usually have to go to extra classes or join in several extracurricular activities after school. Therefore, flexible breakfast or dinner time should be applied. Additionally, not every family is living together. People in modern life tend to choose to stay in nuclear families, where there are only parents and their children. Because of this, all the generations could not have meals together on a daily basis due to the distance. They are more likely to reunite at weekends or on holidays.

This tendency, in my opinion, is detrimental. One of the primary cons is that it affects the closeness of family members. Dinner is often the time that everyone sits back at the end of the day and talks about their day, work, study, and so on. By canceling this small family reunion, the understanding between family members might be reduced and the generation gap could be enlarged. Furthermore, parents could not control what their children consume daily. When eating out without parents’ supervision, a lot of kids would choose fast food or street food. This, because of grease, sanitation, and other factors, could adversely affect children's health.

To conclude, there are many factors that could lead to this trend. I believe the drawbacks it brings to people’s lives are more than we could imagine.