The technology development has affected social relationships from person to person. Do the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative aspects?

In recent years, the question whether social networking sites have positive influences on human communication has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the technology advancement is not without disadvantages, the upsides will justify these.

On the one hand, some reasons can be cited to explain the drawbacks of social media. First, since people are using social media giants as a means of communication more frequently, their social skills may face up with the risks of being deteriorated owing to the lack of real interaction. In fact, there are numerous individuals, especially teenagers, often use informal language with several emotions and abbreviations when communicating on social networking, which in turn degrades their ability to write and speak formally. Second, by providing not only low-cost and efficient communicating systems but also multi-purpose platforms to connect users with common interests, networking companies make users addicted to social media. In fact, according to Common Sense of Media census (2015), people spent averagely more than one-third of a day on social networks such as Facebook and Twitter, which results in less quality time for family and other relationships.

Under no circumstances should the benefits be marginalized. First, since the proliferation of technology makes social media flourish, people find it is easier to keep in touch with others. For instance, social media giants, such as Facebook, Instagram, allow users to connect and have a conservation with each other, which will promote social behavior and strengthen social relationships. Second, with the view to motivating the global economy, social networking sites allow international enterprises to hold online meetings and conferences regardless of geographical distance. This means that thanks to the invention of online-based communication tools, such as Viber, Skype, the limits of old-fashioned means of communication such as letters or telegrams are eased, thus people working in multinational corporations can work and collaborate with their colleagues as productive as direct contact.

In conclusion, although the state of art technology has some negative impacts on human communication, the positive aspects of it should be recognized. By balancing the time used for technology, the cutting- edge technology can do wonders for social relationships.