Teenagers should be allowed to use phones at an early age. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern age, with the development of technology, the age of phone users is decreasing gradually. Despite the fact that the trend can be beneficial to some people, I strongly disagree with the permission for teenagers to use mobile devices at such a young age.

To begin with, children should not be allowed to own a mobile phone at an early age due to the exposure of some underage content on the Internet. Although big media corporations argue that they have their censorship team to eliminate any inappropriate content, some might not be completely deleted and this poses an implicit threat to young users. One example is Tik Tok, the platform which has loose age restrictions as well as a variety of unsuitable videos, from violent to unethical content.

Furthermore, by not allowing teenagers to use mobile devices, parents partly help their kids to concentrate more on their studies. Nowadays, there are a plethora of new apps and games online, which can be easily downloaded to a smartphone. Children, on one hand, can be easily addicted to such interesting games; hence, this may lead to their bad performance at school because of spending too much time on their phones. Parents’ action to prevent their kids’ addiction to mobile devices as soon as possible can be seen as useful and thoughtful in the future.

In conclusion, mobile phones are one of the greatest inventions of humans. Nonetheless, when kids of such a young age get to use phones, it can do more harm than good to both users as well as their family.