Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and
prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?
For most people around the world, television has become the main activity that consumes most
of their free time. Some are of the opinion that watching TV encourages laziness and social
isolation and I agree. Moreover, I think that watching too much television is directly correlated
with a person’s mental health and overall success in life.
Laziness and social isolation are the two main drawbacks associated with prolonged watching
of television. People are naturally designed to seek pleasure and when one is given the choice
between watching a new episode of their favourite TV show and studying for instance, most
people choose the former because of its short-term benefits. This results in people sacrificing
their future for the sake of entertainment. Additionally, people who spend more time in front of a
television screen have less time to interact with their social circle. This development is
detrimental, especially for children, because social interactions are essential in learning and
practicing social skills such as communication, cooperation and teamwork.
Furthermore, too much screen time has a negative impact on a person’s mental condition.
Firstly, television programmes are created in a way of delivering information in short bursts. This
contributes to the reduction of a person’s attention span. Consequently, people with shorter
attention spans find it difficult to focus on longer tasks, which is a necessary skill in the real
world. Secondly, for entertainment purposes, television programmes often showcase unrealistic
and illusional stories of real life situations which leads to people having unrealistic expectations
about their own lives. This often results in people being unhappy and dissatisfied about their life
which in turn may lead to various psychological disorders.
In conclusion, while watching television has become the dominating leisure activity worldwide, I
strongly believe that its effects on individuals are damaging.