There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is true that a rich variety of musical styles can be found everywhere around the world. In my opinion, music is a vital part of our lives for a range of reasons, and I argue that traditional music is more important in comparison with popular international music.

Music is something that accompanies with all of us throughout our lives. Firstly, as children, we are taught songs by our parents and teachers as a mean of leaning English and sometimes as a form of enjoyment. Children are pleasure in singing songs with others and it would appear that the act of singing creates the connection between participants, regardless of their age or gender. Secondly, later in life, many songs are released as a form of expression of composer’s stories and emotions. They deliver their experiences as well as their thoughts, which sometimes words cannot solely do, through songs to the audience and hopefully find an intensive empathy.

In my point of view, traditional music should be valued over the modern, international music that has so popular in many parts of the world. Modern and popular pop music are commonly catchy and fun, and it is simply a commercial product that is marketed and sold by businesspeople. In contrast, traditional music expresses culture, customs, and the history of a country. For example, Quan Ho folk singing in Vietnam describes the daily routines, lifestyles, and religion belief of former generations. By this way, the youths can connect and discover the past and it therefore largely contributes to the identity of Vietnamese culture.

In conclusion, music is a necessary part of the life of each people and I personally believe that traditional music should be given more important than international music because of its contribution to a culture and tradition of a country.