There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and have another undesirable effects on people's health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

In recent times, the number of cars running on the roads have increased tremendously. Driving a car has become a stutus symbol and luxury item to show-off, without realizing the side-effects contributing to global warming and various health issues. There are various measures to control increasing number of vehicles one the road, precipitating few of them below.

One of the ways to reduce cars on the road is to create awareness on the pollution and chemicals exuded by vehicles, effecting environment and health of general public. Volunteers from various communities, NGOs, organisation and government officials should come together to propogate worst effects of pollution on our surroundings and health. They can organize information sessions, display banners on roads and streets demonstrating ill effects and use media to educate people about it.

Another method to help reduce traffic and vehicles is "Car Pooling" while travelling to offices. People can pool cars with their collegues or neighbours by creating forums and displaying the car and need for car information. Organizations can also contribute by propelling employees to use car pooling and not bring their cars to offices.

Thirdly, according to my rumination, government should also invest in developing seemless transportation systems in the cities to propell people to use more of public transport and less of their personal cars.

Lastely, medical institutions should also create awareness about the benefits of cycling which will descourage people to use car for short distant destinations. And if celebrities can join hands with medical institutes to create awareness on goodness of cycling then this will definitely change people's mindset.

To conclude, I would like to say that there are various ways we can reduce global warming and pollution to perpetuate our environment like creating spreading knowledge on ill effects of pollution and goodness of being healthy but unless each individual himself doesnt take initiatives, changes cannot be restored.