There is increasing of old people living longer in many countries around the world. Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on population as a whole?

Since the number of older people in many countries is growing in recent years, this not only leads a merit such sharing of their experiences to young people, but it also brings detrimental effect like the government should provide more budget in order to care them.

One of the mayor advantages of rising a number of the elderly in many countries is that they can share some experiences obtained when they were young. Putting it more simply, the longer people live, the more evidence they get, being a valuable lesson for the young to take beneficial event and to leave detrimental ones. For example, when young generation in Indonesia get married and have long distance relationship due to their jobs, grandparents can give some useful tips for the young to maintain their families. Such wisdom collected from senior people makes the younger have a guidance to solve some problems in their life.

However, the rising of number older people leads a new problem for the governments having to allocate more money to cover their life necessities. When young generations prefer to live in another city and only focus on their job, the governments are forced to take over the responsibilities caring the elderly such as providing residential buildings. Evidence showed that the local government in Surabaya, the capital city of East Java, spent more than 15 billion rupiah just only to build nursing homes for older society during the 2020 periods. As a result, budgets that should be allocated for other aspects like health and infrastructure and education is decreasing.

In conclusion, while growing the number of the elderly enrich wisdom in the society, this leads financial burdens for government. It is suggested for people to have pension plan that can be used when they have retired.