THERE IS AN INCREASING TREND AROUND THE WORLD TO HAVE A SMALL FAMILY RATHER THAN A LARGE FAMILY.

WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF HAVING A SMALL FAMILY RATHER THAN A LARGE FAMILY?

In the contemporary world, the size of family is decreasing even though the rate of global population is soaring. The current trend of socities is to have a family with fewer members unlike earlier days when a family includes parents, children and grand parents. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of it.

As far as the benefits of it are concerned the far-reaching effect is the cost. Compared to the larger family, a small family needs a lot less money to survive since the smaller family has a fewer members. The family budget design to comply with the demand of every individual as the number of people is less, their need can be easily affordable. In Brisbane, for instance, a family of 4 can live on the salary of only one person of the family. Another positive aspect is offered by it, is the amount of time it demands. Unlike earlier days, when family size was relatively larger, the smaller family of mordern days has more time to spend. As the majority of time is consumed to manage them and to provide basic needs. It means they do not have time to fun, the small family trend has very admiring feature is the time that can be used to enjoy with family.

On the other side, this movement has been criticised by many due to the number of drawbacks associated with it. The prime worrying reason is the support. A small family unit has been complaining about the level of stress which seems like unmanageable, due to the lack of support. For example the younger kids can be looked after by the older siblings hence the reponsibility is shared between parents and children. Secondly the threatning concern for the majority of the nuclear families is the risk of isolation. This movement of family offers freedom and convenience even though it suffers a lot due to loneliness. I born and brought up in joint family hence I have never experienced such a feeling. However, after moving to Australia, where I live with my husband, I often feel isolated. Thus the smaller families have contentious issues to confront which are the lack of support and a feeling of isolation.

Overall it is clear that the way we used to have a family unit has been changed. Instead of more family members, now the size of it is getting smaller and smaller. This change has definitely delivered advantages such as low maintenance and low stress level. However, the lack of support and isolation are the challenging issues that come with this trend.