There is a saying "Do as the Romans do". Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Is is possible to learn about a culture without learning the language?

In recent decades, there has been more and more people going abroad as for traveling or studying, leading to the increased demand of learning new cultures. Given that there are many other ways to know about a culture apart form language, visitors should adapt and respect another country’s culture.

The proper adaptation and acceptance of a new culture are conducive to everyone’s life abroad. First, by behaving like the locals, a foreigner can have the exposure to the original style of the natives, either thoroughly or partly. This, thereby, offers him or her a wealth of memorable experiences and a reservoir of knowledge. Second, the insight to a culture enables people to avoid unnecessary conflicts that could happen if people lack common understanding of the area. For example, due to cultural differences, right gestures at this place can be considered offensive to the other.

Although language plays an important role in the formation of a culture, it is still possible for people to learn about the lifestyles and thinking of the locals. In fact, despite the language barrier, most etiquettes can be learned by following the gestures fo the natives. For instance, when visiting Asia, the Westerners can know more about the cuisine tradition of the region by observing the way of using chopsticks. In addition, nowadays, the study of new cultures is assisted by advanced technology, such as the Internet and mobile phones. In order to learn the others’ civilization, people can make good use of translation or read documents about that culture in advance.

In conclusion, humans should be encouraged to adapt and accept the culture of the country they travel to because of its various benefits. Owing to body language and modern technology, everyone has chance to understand other countries’ etiquettes without knowing the language.