There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through regular assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, a knowledge of a person is judged by assessing students through exams. In schools, colleges, and universities each and every student assess through exams and there seems to be growing trend instead of regular assessment. But by judging through exams it has both pros and cons as a form of assessment.

At the outset, advantages of assessment through exams are that they can check the memory power and how much data a folk can remember and how a person can represent the data collected in exams. Henceforth, it is necessary to assess a student on the basis of exams. To quote an example, in India students are assess through exams. If a person score good marks, he or she is consider as a knowledgeable person and a person who score less marks do have any value. Owing to which person's intelligent can be checked, not only but also person's development can also assess through exams and such type of qualities cannot be checked through regular assessment.

On the other hand, it carry myriad of disadvantages such as a person might be not able to score well in exams due to some circumstances consequently it cannot be said that he is not good, he might be better in other activities. Another prime con is that anyone can score marks in exams by cheating or from any other source. Therefore, that type of person should never be judge by exams.

To recapitulate, any way through which a student is assess has some advantages as well as disadvantages. Similarly, assessment through exams rather than regular assessment has also same kind of effects.