There is a shortage of housing in many countries and this can lead to severe social consequences. Only governments can solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that governments should be the ones who tackle the problem related to housing shortages. In my own perspective, I believe that besides governments, other elements in society such as constructive companies, charities or non-pro-fit organizations can give a hand to address this issue.

There are some reasons why the government might be the primitive member to solve the housing issues. The authorities could solve a problem by adjusting the real estate price in order to help people who meet the basic need to afford the house price. Besides that, because the lack of houses could lead to a result that people will face homelessness or poverty so people could provide financial support in the form of rent payments such as temporary housing for those who find them homeless or poor.

Although the government could do several things to solve the issue, other factors of society should also join their hand to address this problem. In terms of constructive companies, they can cooperate with the authorities to erect buildings. This might be both beneficial for society and the companies. Or the charities, these organizations can raise a campaign for people to fund their money to build housing for low financial conditions. For example, in Vietnam we have a program called “Chap canh uoc mo” to give poor people financial support and build a house which can help them to survive throughout the weather condition safely.

For all aforementioned reasons, I firmly hold the view that apart from the government, many remaining bodies could lend a hand to tackle this question.