These days, more and more schools focus on science and social science subjects

and choose not to teach children to sing, paint, sculpt, write creatively or dance.

Should school-children study the arts?

Given the importance of science and social science in the modern times, some schools have decided to solely focus on teaching these subjects and remove arts subjects from the school curriculum. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought since the arts also benefit school-children in many aspects.

By studying the arts, students can greatly foster their creativity and patience. Regarding the former, art subjects require children to conceive of, say, choreography, melody of songs, pictures or content of essays. These activities would stimulate their creativity, helping them to thrive in the face of the encroachment of automation in the future workplace. Furthermore, it tends to take much time to do these activities, as seen in how much time one spends to draw or portray. This consequently enhances their patience, which in turn enables them to persist and achieve their long-term goals in the future instead of succumbing to hardship along the way.

In addition, enrolling in art lessons also confers emotional and occupational benefits. By expressing emotions and feelings through drawing or painting, schoolchildren can easily relieve stress associated with school issues such as exams or peer pressure. This can lead to a better mental health and ultimately improve their overall academic performance. Added to this is the fact that students can identify a suitable career path if they have opportunities to study different subjects, in specific, the arts. For example, many students have realized their innate talents and strengths in dancing after taking such lessons at school. Due to the proliferation of the entertainment industry, some of them can even be offered lucrative jobs in this field.

In conclusion, I lean towards the view that schoolchildren should be taught about the arts at school. This is because such subjects can improve important virtues such as creativity and patience, allow them to be more mentally healthy and open more career prospects.