These days, people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society, which means people use things for a short time and then throw them away. What are the causes and what are the consequences?

In recent days, people have created a throwaway society since nearly everything is disposable and only be used in a short time. This trend is caused by some reasons and they can act as a precursor to several detrimental impacts.

There are many driving factors which contribute to the rise of throwaway lifestyle. The first reason is the predominance of packaged food. Having ready meals means people no longer need to clean plates and cutlery as they can easily throw those single-use items away. For example, thousands of orders are completed in Now – a food order application everyday. As a result, the amount of plastic bowls or spoons disposed daily would be enormous. Another alarming reason is the phenomenon of fast fashion. People purchase cheap, trendy clothing but dispose them after a few wears. Fast fashion brands do not have enough time to control the quality of their products when there is such urgency to get clothing to their crowd customers. Due to this low-quality mass production, the clothes are not sustainable and they can be disposed in a few days or weeks.

Because of the aforementioned reasons, this trend of throwaway lifestyle can have several drawbacks. On a personal level, it can cause health issues. For instance, wearing low quality items might make people’s skin feel itchy and can lead to skin problems; or consuming food packed in nylon bags can cause cardiovascular disease. On a broader level, mass consumer society can be a threat to the environment. This is evidenced by the fact that single use items and other domestic waste are disposed in the river or the ocean, which makes the water pollution become more serious. Many underwater creatures have died as they have swallowed plastic or nylon pieces, therefore, global biodiversity and ecosystems has been affected tremendously.

In conclusion, throwaway lifestyle is caused by some factors and it obviously has harmful impacts on people’s lives. Policy makers and all individuals should consider those bad effects elaborately in order to implement some feasible measures to tackle this issue.