Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Is this a positive or a negative change?

On the one hand, watching TV may bring some advantages for adolescents. First of all, watching television is an effective way for various adolescents to relax. Over the past few years, according to some studies, there have been complaints among children and their parents about an overloaded curriculum. Therefore, after a stressful day at school, watching TV could help children reduce their stress via watching several hilarious shows and sitcoms. Another benefit worth being discussed is that TV programs can also be informative and educational. Unlike the past, educational programs for juveniles are now available on TV. Nowadays, kids can learn a great deal of things when they are watching TV. For example, in Vietnam, national television stations provide many useful educational programs for children so that they can improve their knowledge and skills.

On the other hand, there are also a range of drawbacks of watching TV. To begin with, children have less communication skills since they spend less time connecting and playing with their peers. The fact that many juveniles are addicted to watching TV. According to some research related to children's habits, there are more and more of those who prefer to stay at home all day watching television instead of going out with their friends. That is the reason why the increasing number of kids lack communication skills. As a negative result, when they enter the work environment in the future, they find it difficult to interact with their colleagues. Furthermore, some programs contain violent and aggressive content that may affect the cognition of children. There are a wide range of violent programs that parents can prevent their children from. This can suddenly appear when kids are watching TV. When they watch many violent programs, they may imitate it, and some children may see it as normal actions. The fact that it affects children a lot, when they mature, they may have a tendency to be aggressive and violent.