today children spend more time playing computer games than doing sports

Nowadays, many children spend most of their leisure time playing computer games instead of playing sports. In my opinion, there are various reasons behind this development, which is definitely a negative trend.

To begin with, children have to study under heavier academic than 20 years ago, due to higher expectations from their parents. After finishing official classes, they continue doing extracurricular activities such as club activities, competitions, and do any voluntary work from school or attending extra classes. Then, when they back home, they must do a huge of exercises and prepare for the next lessons, so they are likely to find something to relax and release their stress fast and easy to find. Another reason is that there are a lot of helicopter parents, paying close attention to their child’s activities, education, and behavior. Therefore, children are not able to go out or play sports with their friends, because of their parent’s fear of being injured by playing sports or kidnapped by strangers, so stay at home and play computer games is the best choice.

From my perspective, computer games have some negative effects on children. Firstly, children staying at home for a long time have a tendency to isolate themselves. It also prevents them from fully developing their potential as a person. For instance, they have no chance to practice communication, collaboration, creativity, and critical thinking, leading them to lack social skills. Secondly, staring at screens for a prolonged period of time can cause several eye diseases such as eyesore and shortsightedness. Thirdly, children addicted to games, especially violent and sexual games are likely to develop bully behavior and easily be aggressive.

To sum up, playing computer games is becoming more and more popular due to their attractive and interesting effects. I believe that this is a negative trend that prevents children from developing naturally and may cause health problems.