Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is true that we are surrounded by advertisements of companies that desire to promote the products and services. While I accept that advertising has contributed significantly to the sales of popular commodities, I do not agree that people only buy goods because of advertisement.

Admittedly, advertising persuades people to buy unnecessary goods. This is because of the nature of advertising is to help in boosting the sales, so advertisement's producers leave no stone unturned to crave more and more customers. Advertisements employ a wide variety of methods such as emphasising on eye-catching designs or exaggerating the quality of the product to allure customers. As a result, people who cannot resist temptation would end up in impulsive shopping.

However, I would argue that people buy products not merely because of advertisements. It is their needs that prompt them to buy goods. In this situation, people would only watch advertisements after feeling a need for a particular products and they just come across some promoting advertiments of this products. The second motive that drive individuals to purchase goods is the quality of the products. At the end of the day, it is the quality of products that speak for itself and advertisements are soly regarded as a means that provides customers with a wide range of choices. In other word, poor quality products, even with the support of advertisements, eventually fails to make customers repeat purchases.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that it could be a misjudment if we insist that advertisements is the only factor promoting high sales of popular goods.