Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements, nowadays, can be seen everywhere. Between TV programmes, you have to watch the advertisements for minutes. In the supermarket, numerous posters are put up at the entrance. Also, advertisements are printed in the tickets to the amusement park. Usually, those goods in the advertisements sell much better than others. From my perspective, however, the high sales of commodities don't indicate people's great need in them, but reflect the impacts of advertising.

To begin with, advertisements do enhance the sales a lot. Take Oppo for example. Oppo, a well-known mobile phone brand in China. Oppo company spends a great deal of money on advertisements. Many programmes on TV get investment from Oppo, and big boards about Oppo are set up in the streets. Although Oppo is not the best mobile phone when compared with Apple and Huawei, it is the best selling brand among teenagers because young people are fond of programmes online where Oppo advertisements can be easily found. The overwhelming advertisements help improve the sales of Oppo phones.

Furthermore, confused by the overwhelming advertisements, people could be easily convinced of buying those goods. For instance, blenders are increasingly popular due to plenty of advertisements. People are informed of the simple steps of making juice using several fruits in the advertisement and they tend to buy one in the supermarket or by online shopping. But once they have used that machine, they may find that it is extremely difficult to clean it up. Some orange remains which cannot be washed up are left in the blender and they rot over time. Thus, most purchasers give up using the blender. The blender becomes useless and will be thrown away by most families.

To sum up, advertisements have the power to stimulate the sales, but the goods in those advertisements are not the exact need of the society. Instead, investment on advertisements are just one way of selling goods, and people should be clear whether they need them before purchasing.