today the high sales of popular consumers goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Modern world has became a world of advertisements.We come across variety of advertises in our daily life. I completely agree that these advertisements have a huge role in selling of many consumer goods which are not actually required by the society.

Firstly, with the advancement in technology ads have become a part of our routine which can not be neglected. Various mediums like TV, newspapers, internet, long hoardings on road, etc are used to attract the customers. The promotion of many products are done by celebrities who have huge fan following. All these have a definite impact on consumers who come across these ads quite often. These certainly motivates them in buying products which are of little or no use.

Other important factor affecting is the pace at which technology is growing.Many electronic gadgets become obsolete within few months and the new ones with better specifications take their place. The advertisers play a vital role in magnifying its significance resulting in great response from the consumers. Also, certain goods are projected as status symbol by the ad makers. People are made to feel as if they need to buy them just to prove they belong to a certain class in the society. Advertisers know the attitude of their customers and they are aware how to increase the demand of their brands. The growth and demand of certain brands like apple, gucci, nike and many more clearly back our argument because all these brands launch their products with a successful ad campaign leading to it. Thus,technology and the image of brand are used as effective tools by marketers.

Finally, to conclude I completely agree that advertising can lead to high sales even if these goods are not the primary requirements. The main reason behind these being the skills of the advertisers in attracting customers by the brand’s image and various sources.