With a history of more three thousand years, advertising has already become an indispensable part of our daily life. However, now it has caused heated debates: does advertising have negative influence on our lives? My view is that advertising has its benefits to the society, but we have to be aware of its drawbacks, too.

Firstly, commercials help consumers to know more details about certain products before they have the chance to take a look by themselves and find cost-effective ones. Nowadays, all the products, especially electronic devices, are being updated very quickly, which sometimes makes commercials necessary for consumers to catch up with the latest goods.

Moreover, commercials serve a lot for companies to build brand image, boost sales and make profits. For example, Nike has built up its brand reputation of providing professional and comfortable shoes and other sports equipment with a series of TV advertisement with the slogan “Just to do it”. Commercials can be used as a excellent tool for designers and producers to show products’ good quality to target audience.

But there is a dark side of advertising, too. When a product is being advertised too intensively, the cost of commercials would be added to its retail price, which makes the product less affordable. Some companies even go to extremes and make false advertising in order to boost sales and mislead consumers with exaggeration in commercials.

In summary, people should be fully aware of what impact commercials have on our daily life. When we let commercials help us to make shopping decisions, don’t forget that false advertising has its potential disadvantage: the exaggeration and the misrepresentation. Only by doing so can we buy the cost-effective that we really need without being cheated by commercials.