Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental issues is a major topic among the public. Whether individuals have the capability to improve the environment has become a controversial issue. In my view, everyone can do something to protect the world we are living just by doing little things in daily life.

Firstly, though individuals do not hold many resources and technologies as governments and corporations do, their small behavior will eventually have an influence on a big picture. For example, it only takes a few minutes for a citizen to do the proper waste process, segregating different materials, but by doing so, they are saving considerable time for the government to process the waste after having collect them. So, there’s no effort too small for the protection of the environment.

Moreover, the plans and strategies of governments and big corporations will be affected by individuals’ choices. For instance, if consumers say no to plastic bags, those companies who manufacture such product will have to seek a substitution to satisfy the buyers, which is most likely to be recyclable fabric bags. If consumers have raised their awareness of preserving our planet, governments and companies will definitely follow their steps and swift to provide more environmentally friendly services and products.

However, that is not to say that governments and corporations do not have their role to play in terms of the environmental protection. Just as what mentioned above, they have more resources and methods to deal with environmental problems at macro level, such as carbon emission and rising sea level, by signing conventions such as Kyoto Protocol to set up a standard for the gas emission.

In summary, every individual can participate in all kinds of activities which aim to protect the environment, no matter it is an important move such as buying a electric car or a small choice, such as refusing to use a plastic bag. Meanwhile, governments and companies have their jobs to do, putting more efforts to develop technologies in order to deal with severe damages already exist. Only by doing so can we save this beautiful planet for our next generation.