Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree with ...

People are spending too much money on fixing and preparing ancient buildings which should be replaced by new and state-of-the-art ones. From my personal perspective, I partly agree with this notion.

First and foremost, investment in restoring old buildings is reasonable due to a number of explanations. Firstly, it helps to keep the historical values alive throughout the years. For instance, some old buildings have unique structures or furniture of the old days and some even witnessed unforgettable historical events in the past. Therefore, repairing these old buildings is a way to raise people's awareness of the wonderful history. In addition, spending money on fixing deteriorated towers is not a waste of money because it helps to develop the economy as an attractive destination for travel lovers around the world. Many tourists love the feeling of discovering a country's culture and history through ancient buildings. As a result, repairing outdated buildings may attract more and more tourists, so the money they spend on their tours will turn into the income of the tourism industry which enhances the economy of the country.

On the other hand, too much money spent on fixing old buildings is not always suitable in some cases. To exemplify, some buildings are too old and out-of-date that repairing is no longer possible. They could easily be destroyed by outer factors such as storms, tornadoes, hurricanes and so on. In these cases, money should be spent on erecting new buildings rather than keep wasting money and material on fixing old ones without much efficiency. Therefore, there will be more space of living and the residents will not have to worry about their old houses being knocked down if natural disasters occur in the area.

In conclusion, I think money should be spent on repairing old buildings but with a careful consideration depending on their level of deterioration and the realistic situations.