Topic 1: For your own knowledge, what is the best method of learning Speaking skill for Vietnamese high-school students? Why?

In general, Vietnamese students from 15 to 18 often have some typical difficulties in learning English, especially with speaking skill, and therefore finding out an efficient way of learning the skill is one of the appropriate solutions for this problem. Communicative language teaching (CLT) is considered the most effective way that teachers can use in teaching speaking skill for upper secondary school students in Vietnam.

Firstly, communicative language teaching has characteristics that can be applied for learning the speaking skill. The method’s goal is to enable the students to communicate in the target language while Vietnamese students in an English class often tend to be shy when they are asked to speak English despite their wide range of vocabulary. This way of learning, as a result, will encourage them to actively engaged in many communicative activities and freely present their ideas. Also, the use of authentic materials in CLT is considered to allow the students to develop their speaking skill and experience. Moreover, by learning to communicate, high-school students will be more motivated, and they will feel that they are learning to do something useful with the language. All these characteristics, which the previous teaching methods do not have, make communicative language teaching more worthy to be used in teaching speaking skill.

Studying by communicative approach not only fits the high-school students’ status but also satisfies demands of the Vietnam Ministry of Education and Training’s new general education curriculum. According to the new curriculum, Vietnamese high-school students are supposed to achieve the third level base on the Six English Language Proficiency Levels of Vietnam. This means Vietnamese students should be able to deal with most situations likely to arise whilst traveling in an area where the language is spoken; describe experiences and events, dreams, hopes & ambitions and briefly give reasons and explanations for opinions and plans. Through communicative activities in class, students’ confidence is built, which means they can deliver their thoughts and wants in their speech or speaking. In the new curriculum, teachers and teaching methods are no longer the core matter that needs to be assessed; learners and learning, now, has become a more important component that should be paid attention to. For this reason, Vietnamese students can communicate in English more frequently, so that communicative language teaching is highly recommended for its relating characteristics to the curriculum.

However, CLT requires the teachers’ constant creativity and a wide deep range of knowledge of teaching methods so that they can make use of it in helping students improve their skills, especially speaking. Though it is hard to create many truly communicative activities to get students involved, there will be a worthy outcome when it succeeds. Students’ weaknesses in speaking somehow will be improved and developed.

Overall, communicative language teaching will create many difficulties for the teachers, implying new teaching plans from the old curriculum to the new one, for example. It is regarded as the best method for the difference in characteristics that overweight the previous ones, the useful and appropriate characteristics which fit best the new general curriculum’s demand.