Topic 3: Recent research has shown that within the European Union the largest difference between the earnings of men and women exists in the UK. Many equal rights campaigners believe that immediate action should be taken to close the gender pay gap. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

according to recent research, men still receive higher priority in receiving earnings compared to their counterpart: women in many european countries. Therefore, a lot of equal rights campaigners believe that governments should take action as soon as possible to remove pay gap from contemporary society. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement. I will discuss why the gender discrimination is still happening in employment and why it is essential to be solved immediately.

To start with, outwardly, gender equality is a fundamental right for people in modern society as well as an internationally agreed sustainable development goal of many nations. However, safety, equality and empower rights between women and men are not yet reality. The first reason is patriarchal society is still a ubiquitous tendency in a lot of european nations. only men are considered to be the base of the society while women are suffering from an excessive inferiority in most aspects of life leading to a high proportions of illiteracy and innumeracy. female labors are not educated about their rights and responsibilities that prevent them from having illusions of grandeur to breach to gulf and climb to higher social hierarchy. it is one large glass ceiling that women cannot empower their position in modern society which they deserve to own. For example, in Turkey, more than 400 women are blue-collar workers with inadequate monthly salary and they are ready to have unpaid work and spend most of time doing caring responsibilities as their social slog for them. secondly, many stereotypical jobs are just for male rather than female in both developed and developing nations. For example, doctors, pilots, engineers, other manual jobs requiring high skills, health, flexibility are believed to be just suitable for men. women do not have well-paid jobs in repercussion to being subservient and drawing the dole from the governments and husband’s incomes. Last but not least, there are more men now working as senior roles in companies that their incomes are much higher than women. according to BBC news, almost ¾ of UK companies pay men more than women and female earn 16% per hour less than men. generally, education and ability of women in many european countries are still low to claim for high position in work bringing better incomes.

After witnessing the truth about gender gap in eu, we can see some main factors why this phenomenon should be removed. Firstly, overlooking the fact that more and more women are struggling to emancipate from metaphorical shakes of poverty is contradicted to social gender promotions which support women rights. secondly, continual sexual discrimination can cause barriers in social and family relationships. women are plunged into its despair while suffering from domestic violence from men and becoming people who are on the very margins of society having no stable and independent incomes. Finally, gender gap enlarges limit for women to have opportunities to express their aspiration and contribute to national economic development. If one economic base has the collaboration between both genders, they are much more likely to promote strongly and sustainably in a near future.

In a nutshell, I strongly believe that the difference between the earnings of men and women in eu should be taken action to remove that generate one happy, fair society life for women. Not only do governments have take responsibility but individuals should be aware of the modern opinions to improve their own future. Moreover, poverty, inferiority, discrimination will will not be barriers to sustainable development of countries in the future.

not be barriers to sustainable development of countries in the future.