Topic: Nowadays people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might be the case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that many people today are opting to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. This trend happens due to several reasons, however, there are many drawbacks from this decision.

To begin with, there are two main reasons why self-employment has become more popular. People prefer to do that because they achieve greater freedom than working under companies’ regulations or by any procedures. For example, while employees are obligated to follow a fixed working schedule set by their employers, free agent laborers have the right to work at time that best fit their needs. Moreover, the number of investors to promote the start-up model has been vastly increasing, which became one of the main catalysts for the frenzy of self-run business popping up in recent years.

On the other hand, the overall impact contains some difficulties that unaffiliated people might encounter. Firstly, people who decide to run their own business may face financial risks and might not be provided stable and regular incomes as working for an employer. In recent years, a number of ride-sharing apps including Go-viet, Grab,Be … have brought job opportunities and a steady number of customers to motorbike drivers working for these apps. This has made people who work alone – the traditional drivers – fall into the situation of losing guests, suffering from slump which has a tremendous impact on their income. Secondly, there will be no employee benefits such as health insurance, overtime and retirement benefits which can be a frightful problem in case the business does not run successfully. Lastly, self-employment involves hard-working, long hours and total responsibility.

To conclude, I would argue that although there are advantages of the current trend to be self-employed, they are outweighed by the disadvantages as mentioned above.