“In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.”

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

People nowadays have different views about whether or not graduate students should be promoted to take a gap year before entering university. This essay will look at this decision from both perspectives.

To start with, gap year students will have to deter the continuation of their study for a long time, which can generate the feeling of being left behind others and lose some momentum. Furthermore, the expenses related to the gap year could make college more difficult for young adults. These two reasons are the most considerations when parents and students decide to have a year off.

On the other side of this argument, rather than spending much time on papers and plenty of assignments, people who have a year to explore the beauty of the world on their own may gain a significant number of practical experiences and knowledge before starting university. There is a saying that: “Travel broadens the mind” – stating the importance of stepping out our comfort zone to challenge ourselves with something new in the real world. In addition to this, a gap year can facilitate advance soft skills and improve people’s existing skills in life such as communication, teamwork, time management or leader skill. These skills make a significant contribution to people’s life afterward as well as develop as a person. In the final analysis, spending time to work or travel will give enhance our résumé by providing valuable skills that any employer will be impressed by.

In conclusion, it seems to me that students should give themselves the best chance to have a successful, refreshing experience in their unique lifetime and gap year is one of the great choices.