It is known that using cultural traditions for tourism purposes will damage their value. There is also a school of thought that this is the sole way to protect and develop them. In my opinion, both views are true to some certain extents.

From my perspective, the commercialization of cultural traditions in tourism relatively brings many negative impacts. To begin with, when traditional cultures are used for tourism purposes, many sacred sites are heavily damaged by the irresponsible behaviors of tourists. For example, they draw graffiti on famous structures such as the symbol of the hand on the Golden Bridge on the top of Ba Na Hill, a mountainous amusement park in Da Nang City. Besides, being lured by the power of money, many traditional customs can be totally adapted to suit tourists’ demands, which loses the original beauty and value of these traditions. For example, Vietnamese traditional dances such as the lion dance, which were traditionally performed by martial artists to propagate cultural values and celebrate crucial meanings during special occasions, but now, it is often performed by amateurs to just earn as much as money at tourist sites across the country. Such changes not only give foreign visitors a false impression but can also make the dance less meaningful to the local people.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why monetizing from cultural traditions is the solution only to protect them. First, when these cultural values are used for tourism, The unique cultural characteristics of each region will be known by more people around the world, which makes people have a well up on general knowledge. For instance when visitors came to Vietnam to travel, not only can see spectacular scenery of the nature of Vietnam, explore local cuisine and specialties, but they can also see the Vietnamese people wearing “Ao dai which is the traditional clothes here. From there, more people will know about these clothes which help increase their value and help them to last longer. Second, It can both generate profits provide people improvements/enhancements in their understanding of cultural traditions, and also preserve such traditions. And from this profit, government constructs museums and galleries to display cultural traditions as well as organize many presentations to explain and introduce the values of those cultural traditions to protect and develop it.

In conclusion, while some argue that the commercialization of cultural traditions in tourism has many negative impacts on their value, I hold the belief that it still has many positive aspects.