Topic: Some people think that it is good for people in a country to broadcast foreign films and TV shows. Others, however, think it is best to produce local films and shows. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are numerous overseas films and TV shows which are watched by local audiences in recent years. However, some people believe that citizens should only watch their national ones. In my perspective, I do support the former trend for many reasons.

It is clear that films and TV shows imported from other countries provide various benefits. First of all, watchers find it a great opportunity to study foreign languages. It is an authentic learning environment since learners can learn new vocabulary, grammar structures, pronunciation or even idioms and slangs. In fact, thanks to American series like Friends, Games of Thrones, Once Upon The Time and the like that Vietnamese learners have improved their English skills significantly. Moreover, movies or shows which are imported normally have great quality and a wide range of categories. People nowadays strictly require a well-qualified film from images and sound to the plot. As a result, American, Korean or European ones are considered their best choice. Moreover, local movies do not have as many types as the overseas ones; therefore, watchers have to choose the latter to fulfill their desire.

However, local films and TV shows also contribute largely to a country’s development. People should pay attention to their local products since it conveys and reflects their culture and society’s hot topics. Only by watching their national movies can they attain much knowledge about their history and people. Additionally, citizens can contribute to the growth of their country’s entertainment services by enjoying local performances. A national blockbuster can bring a huge profit to local companies, actors and even other related organizations like travel agencies or hospitality services.

In conclusion, both overseas and local TV shows and movies are beneficial to audiences; however, the former is much popular than the latter because of its undeniable exceptional features. Local producers should invest more in their products both in quality and quantity to attract more audiences.