Topic: some people think that it is more effective for students to study in groups while others believe that it is better for them to study alone.

Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People have different views whether studying in groups or individually brings more benefits. From my own perspective, group work enables students to work on their mistakes more effectively and therefore better improves individual ability.

Studying alone can be advantageous regarding self-paced learning and lower peer pressure. For the former, students can learn at their own speed, and are not rushed to do anything, from gaining input knowledge faster to taking charge of a greater role in a group activity. Students, as a result, can flexibly commit their time to studying what they are particularly concerned with as well as enjoying their own hobbies without any sense of urgency. Meanwhile, studying in groups can be challenging sometimes, especially for those who have poorer academic performance than the rest of the team. A feeling of shame and self-comparison could be created, impeding people from raising their voice, confidently expressing their opinions and finally making their own progress.

Nonetheless, students do need to get involved into group work if they really wish to foster individual development. Some people may fear that studying in groups may make them tense, especially when seeing more superior performance from answers of others in the group. However difficult the feelings might be, it is them that force people to strive for each time, then overcome adversities and gradually push their self-development forward. Another reason which makes group work rewarding is the support every single member can receive. Unlike personal study, one can get immediate assistance and remarks if he or she has yet to know answers. Not only does this save a lot of time, but this also plays an important part in enhancing teamwork spirit.

In conclusion, although each style of learning has their unique merit, studying in groups can still can have a stronger impact on a person’s ability.