Group vs self-study has been a matter of contention. Some people hold firm to the belief that learning with groups is more productive, whereas others prefer learning alone. Both viewpoints are thoroughly deliberated below.

On the one hand, diverse perspectives and teamwork skills are worth contemplating. In fact, studying in a group exposes students to different thinking and problem-solving methods, which not only enhances the outcome quality but also cultivates well-rounded minds for each member. For instance, assignment topics in universities such as psychology and society require comprehensive observation from learners and group study may benefit a lot. Besides, by studying with a lot of people, students possess chances to take part in a community thereby improving their communication skills and make sense of the real world. Even playing a role in small discussions or big projects at school will be useful hands-on experience for future work.

On the other hand, flexibility and independence are of paramount importance for self-study. Apparently, working alone means that students can do anything from their own opinion without any arguments from others, which usually leads to conflict in study groups. Also, self-paced learning offers students to work at their own pace with their strategy, plan schedule and environment. More notably, autonomy provides the chance to avoid incompetence or bad quality work from others as work in a team. In the absence of impacts, students need to have a strong awareness of their own responsibility for tasks and then can be self-motivated for better outcomes as a result.

All in all, group studying offers diverse perspectives and teamwork skills while working alone provides the opportunity for flexibility and independence. Each method has its upsides so students ought to thoroughly consider the aforementioned notion to make the right decision.