Topic: Success in formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence?

No one can deny the fact that paper tests have been proved to be an indispensable part of knowledge evaluation. It is believed that students achieving god results from these tests are considered clever. In my opinion, the traditional form of examinations would continue to be used as an intelligence measurement.

Needless to say, formal tests have been rated as an effective tool to evaluate students’ knowledge due to its plentiful forms of inquiry. For instance, a well-designed test paper including a range of tasks, such as multiple choices, true or false questions or writing questions can thoroughly examine students’ learning ability and their master of knowledge from different perspectives. However, sometimes students may cram for the exam or learn by rote, which could make pen and paper tests fail to fully measure the comprehensive academic ability of students.

Another undeniable reason why paper tests can measure learners’ true knowledge achievement is that they could have the opportunity to share their own views to specific problems. Take essay as an example. When students are given an essay topic at an examination, they are encouraged to freely write about anything based on what they have learnt. As a result of this, there would occasionally be some possibility to get genius ideas from those results. The minus point of taking exam in normal way is that it might trigger anxiety in students so that they cannot show their real capacity.

In conclusion, I believe that formal paper and pen exams can provide trustful assessments on students’ intelligence. Therefore, they would persist continuously as a vital method of evaluation in education system.