Tourism has become a major source of income for all countries. Write the advantages and disadvantages of tourism. What should be done to ensure healthy tourism takes place.

Do you know tourism has become one of the world’s biggest businesses? This industry across the globe has been flourishing by leaps and bounds. Eventually, it has become a vital key for boosting economic development. This essay will shed light on various merits and demerits of tourism. In addition, it would suggest ways of making tourism favorable.

On one hand, one of the major benefits tourism has bestowed is the creation of wealth. To elaborate more, tourists visit their favourite destinations and pay for using the service industry. As a result, the income which gets generated brings revenue to that service sector contributing to making that nation affluent. Another positive impact is employment generation. To explain it further, the tourism segment is often labour- intensive, needing large numbers of people to service rooms, prepare food and maintain hotel infrastructure. Hence, there is always a demand of employees who are hired on a large scale in this field.

However, the negative impacts of tourism have become substantial. The first impact is increasing pollution levels. To promote tourism, governments of varied nations divert funds on making transportation efficient. As a result, the emission of gases from these vehicles has put enormous stress on the environment by deteriorating air quality. A mount in criminal activities is the second issue being faced by many countries. Immigrants in the form of tourists enter those nations that have liberal visa rules for better job prospects and standard of living. Unable to find any offers, they land up themselves into unlawful activities creating a social disturbance.

In conclusion, despite augmentation in earnings and jobs prospects, tourism has also put a strain on the environment as well as has escalated crime rate. To make tourism safe, governments should promote ecotourism and impose strict laws for lawbreakers.