Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas

The recreational sphere has always had an important influence on strengthening the state image on the international scene. Nevertheless, a developed tourism system may negatively affect the environmental situation in the country. This essay will discuss the main causes associated with this phenomenon and propose some possible solutions to avoid them.

Among the very current issues associated with increased tourist demand are air and noise pollution. Sustainable tourism leads to the destruction of the ecosystem through the frequent use of the traffic system causing the acceleration of air pollution by oil combustion products. For instance, according to the Vienna University of Technology, in 1997, 255 thousand vehicles left 360 kg of lead on the slopes of the nearby mountains .Thus, tourism negatively affects the flora of the host region, which can turn into an intractable ecological catastrophe.

The noise pollution affecting animals, forcing them to leave their natural habitats is not considered to be less serious consequence of the development of tourism. In addition, the construction of roads radically changes the landscape of the surrounding area, resulting in a violation of the fragile ecological balance. For example, the poll conducted by a Community of Ecologists reported that airplane noise, the most popular means of transportation for tourists, leads to stress, make travelers prone to develop cardiovascular diseases. Thereby, the problem of noise pollution is the crucial one in connection with the increase in both vehicles and large enterprises.

The above-mentioned issues could be resolved through promoting more environmentally oriented policy. A number of states are fiercely combating the problem of air pollution through forcing tourists to choose ecological fuel for their cars. The imposing of such a measure proved to be effective in Norway, where, according to legislation, tourists are compelled to use only biofuel for tanking their means of transport. The most effective way to prevent noise pollution ought to be considered the introduction of noiseless urban transport modes. Hence, the enhanced protection of interests at the legislative level may contribute to the resolution of the aspects foregoing.

Summing up, the tourism industry possess a number of costs that cannot be eliminated without performing a flexible government policy. Excluding of the environmental consequences of the tourism branch should be regarded as a primary goal of every state in the 21st century.