As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments encourage business to move to rural areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowsaday, expansion of urbanization has happened at faster pace than ever. The trend causes a heavy burden on the transportation system as well as accommodation in city centers. Some political leaders have advised firms to relocate countryside regions. In my opinion, the suggestion have both drawbacks and benefits which will be elaborated below.

There are obvious merits associated with the movement of companies out of metropolitan areas. The first rationale in support of this view is that a large number of workers will move along with their workplaces therefore reduces the pressure on the infrastructure. Another justification is that pollution from emission will be mitigated thanks to the less number of personal vehicles. More importantly, it is beneficial for both businesses and the workforce when moving to rural places. This stems from the fact that real estates and living costs tend to be cheaper in these areas. Thus, lower the expenditure for organizations and individuals.

Apart from benefits, living in away from cities implies certain pitfalls for businesses. First, companies may struggle with inadequate facilities and infrastructure such as shortage of electricity and water supplies. These may cause detrimental impacts on the companies’ productivity and efficiency. To illustrate, the electricity cut in the middle of manufacturing process may result in company’s miss of the delivery to their buyers, thereby causing them to refund or reimburse for their customers. From workers’ perspectives, they may experience the limitation of services and products in these areas. In addition, the employees would have to spend more time to commute thus lessen their time for family and other priorities. This in turn lead to the degradation of the people’s living standard.

In the light of these facts, relocation to rural regions are of importance to relieve cities of overload of traffic facilities and housing, albeit issues may arise from this trend. In my opinion, the decision of this should fall on businesses’ employers those are ultimately responsible the development of their institutions and satisfaction for their workers.