In today’s society, the question of whether in every discipline, colleges should accept an identical number of male and female applicants or not is often asked. While many people believe that to avoid any discrimination, gender balance is required in all subjects, I firmly oppose the idea that universities should receive same numbers of women and men on all degree courses.

First and foremost, it is unrealistic to equalize the number of female and male students. This means that girls' interests differ from those of guys therefore their professional demands and goals are not the same. Typically, girls choose social subjects whereas guys prefer nature things. Research has shown that female make up more than 70% of the social block. In fact, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For instance, nursing courses have a tendency to attract more female applicants, and it would be more difficult to fulfill these courses if up to fifty percent of the places needed to go to males.

In addition to being ridiculous, it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. Every year, universities should pick the finest candidates for courses based on their qualifications, aptitude, and performance, not on equal gender opportunity. In this way, genders have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good marks at school. And it is inappropriate that if a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it will be regrettable to reject her in favor of a male with a lower grades or fewer qualifications.

In spite of this, the obvious benefits of having the same number of male and female students in every subject cannot be denied. This means that students will have a higher level of competition. To achieve higher encouragements from opposite gender, students will have tougher competition than when they compete with the same gender. This can help both genders to increase their communication skills when it comes to having closer relationships with the opposite gender. Nevertheless, there causes many best candidates to lose the opportunity to enter their favorite major because of gender balance.

In conclusion, for the reasons outlined above, I strongly believe that to equalize the number of female and male students is unnecessary.