Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subjects

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Universities should select male and female students in the fair way. However, I disagree that the number of male and female are the same in every subject.

Firstly, the same number of men and women in every university subject is not reasonable. Depending on hobbies and dreams, every student chooses many different courses. It would be difficult to have the equal proportion of male and female applicants in every courses. In fact, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, computer courses tend to attract more male applicants, whereas nursing courses is choosen by many females.

Secondly, the selection bases on gender, which do not bring effective. If universities try to select 50 percent each gender in every subject, many students can lose a opportunity and they have to study other subjects which they do not like. Instead of this, universities should select the best candidates, thus both men and women try to study well to follow a course they like. As a result, educational quality is improved and many people can achieve success.

All in all, the selection of universities should not base on gender. It would be unrealistic and ineffective to train young people.