University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although our society is becoming more and more tolerant and modernised, cases of unequal treatment on the basis of gender still occur. For instance, it is widely believed that all the professions can be divided into two separate categories: male professions and jobs contingent only to female. This may cause unequal conditions for male and female in the educational sphere. The question of accepting equal numbers of men and women to the universities will be examined in this essay. This idea is sought to be the solution for eliminating discrimination on the grounds of sex. However, my point of view is completely different. I disagree that universities should exercise such a limitations, as it will lead to a lot of disadvantageous consequences.

First and foremost, it should be never forgotten that application to university is a serious, durable and laborious process, which has its own steps, requirements and, more importantly, certain eligibility criteria for applicants that may vary in different universities and majors. To my mind, for the acceptance criteria to be reasonable and objective it should never be based on gender, but personal qualities and capabilities of the applicant. Accepting new students by counting and limiting the number for a certain gender (even equally) may lead to discrimination. For instance, one man who has done a substantial work to boost his CV, his marks and intelligence to finally apply and become a student of Harvard will not be accepted only for the reason that according to the counting there needed to be a female applicant. Thus, imagine this student is not eligible because he is simply not a girl. This kind of approach will definitely hinder people who truly worth a place at university from gaining education where they were planning to. In my opinion, discrimination is apparent in this type of situation more than that when the number of girls accede the numbers of boys at the university.

Another unfavourable outcome that may happen is the decrease in competitiveness of young professionals in the labour market in the future. To be more precise, students, for example girls, too easily accepted to the faculty of law in order to equalise the number of male and female in this subject will not be motivated to work hard in the future, as they will tend to think that everything comes easily when you are a girl. This exaggerating feminist approach will only lead to failure to be accepted as a successful professional in one’s sphere and to prove that he or she is truly worthy. The real success of the result depends on the way it is achieved.

In conclusion, the attempts to artificially equalize the proportions of man and women in every university course are unreasonable, as they will not give a positive result on the promotion of equality and non-discrimination in education and will only lead to adverse effect.